Thursday, January 15, 2015

UNO Psychologist Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from Scientific Society

University of New Orleans psychologist Paul Frick has won a lifetime achievement award from the Society for the Scientific Study of Psychopathy. Frick, a professor and chair of psychology, is the 2015 recipient of the Robert D. Hare Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor bestowed by the organization.

The award, which is reserved for the most eminent scholars in the field of psychopathy, will be presented to Frick in June at the 2015 biennial Society for the Scientific Study of Psychopathy conference in Chicago, Ill.

In the award committee’s recommendation, Frick was praised for “his pioneering contributions to scientific understanding of psychopathy and antisocial behavior in youth.” He was also recognized for his efforts to develop and validate innovative methods for assessing psychopathic tendencies in youth, as well as his effectiveness as a research mentor and catalyst for investigative work on psychopathy worldwide.

Frick’s research focuses on understanding the different pathways through which youth develop severe antisocial behavior and aggression, and the implications of this research for assessment and treatment.

His work has been funded by the National Institute of Mental Health, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the John T. and Catherine D. MacArthur Foundation. He is a previous recipient of the MacArthur Foundation’s Champion for Change in Juvenile Justice Award for the state of Louisiana. 

The Society for the Scientific Study of Psychopathy is a nonprofit professional organization aimed at promoting the conduct and communication of scientific research in the field of psychopathic personality. It also encourages education and training in those fields of science that contribute to research in psychopathy.

Read More

UNO Department of Psychology
UNO Professor to Be Featured on PBS Special ‘Mind of a Rampage Killer’
UNO Honors Two Professors with Excellence in Teaching Awards