Monday, November 10, 2015

UNO Presidential Search Committee Holds Public Forum

The University of New Orleans Presidential Search Committee solicited feedback from members of the UNO community during a public forum held at the Homer L. Hitt Alumni and Visitors Center. Dozens of UNO faculty, staff, students and alumni attended the event, with representatives from each of the groups stepping to the microphone and describing characteristics that they would like to see in the next leader of the University.

The search committee has begun the process of identifying a successor to President Peter J. Fos, who announced in August that he will be retiring from UNO in January 2016 after four years at the helm of his alma mater. Former UL System President Randy Moffett will serve as interim president after President Fos’ departure and is working with President Fos during the next several months to ensure a smooth transition.

According to the tentative timeline, the search committee would like to receive all nominations and applications by the end of November. The committee will select a group of applicants to interview publically by December 9-10. On campus interviews will take place Jan. 19-22, 2016 at the University of New Orleans. At a special board meeting on Feb. 24, the finalists will be presented to the full UL System Board, interviews will be conducted and a new president will be selected.

The UL System has engaged executive search firm Witt/Kieffer to recruit qualified candidates, review applications and provide recommendations to the search committee.

Voting members of the search committee include UL System board members James Carter of New Orleans, Edward Crawford, III of Shreveport, Pamela Egan of Covington, E. Gerald “T-Boy” Hebert of Kenner, Jimmie “Beau” Martin, Jr. of Cut Off, Mark Romero of Lafayette, Robert Shreve of Baton Rouge, Winfred Sibille of Sunset and Gary Solomon of New Orleans. Also serving as a voting member is UNO Faculty Senate President Cherie Courseault Trumbach.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are UNO Student Government Association President Joy Ballard, UNO International Alumni Association President Al Herrera, UNO Foundation Chair Barry LeBlanc, UNO Research & Technology Foundation Chair Russell Trahan and UNO Alumnus/Former Speaker of the House Jim Tucker. UL System President Sandra Woodley serves as the non-voting committee chair.

The System dedicated a page on its website to the UNO presidential search. There, the public can access information about the campus and its region; search committee members; meeting notices; press releases; information about candidates; and meeting videos, when available. In addition, the public can submit comments and questions to the committee by sending an email to

View the public forum.