Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Three University of New Orleans Education Alumnae Named "Principal of the Year" by Jefferson Parish Public Schools

Jefferson Parish Public Schools System named three women "Principal of the Year" yesterday – and all three honorees are alumnae of the University of New Orleans College of Education and Human Development.

Faith Joseph, Jaime Zapico and Suzanne Bordlee will go on to participate in a statewide competition sponsored annually by the Louisiana Department of Education, state education officials announced yesterday.

Whoever wins will succeed yet another proud UNO alumna. Denise Rehm, who received her Master's degree in Education Administration from the UNO College of Education and Human Development in 2002, last fall won the title of 2015 Louisiana "Principal of the Year" state's most exceptional principal came from Jefferson Parish. Rehm, who is principal of Joshua Butler Elementary in Westwego, was nominated for the honor by Jefferson Parish Public Schools and selected from among 15 finalists.

The three women who won local titles yesterday will have big shoes to fill but they are up for the challenge.

Joseph, who received a master's in education from the University of New Orleans has for the last eight years led Henry Ford Middle School in Avondale, where she has also served as teacher, dean of students and assistant principal, according to The Times-Picayune. Her leadership and adherence to tougher accountability standards helped the school, which received a C state letter grade in the past two testing years, to gain three points in its performance score in 2013-14.

Zapico, a two-time alumna who holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from UNO COEHD, has led Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy in Avondale Taylor Academy, for six years and was named Jefferson's middle school principal of the year in 2013. According to The Times-Picayune, Taylor Academy, a middle school and high school, has attained national recognition. The school, which has strict admissions standards, in 2013-2014 achieved an A state letter grade.

Bordlee, who has served as principal of Leo J. Kerner Elementary School in Jean Lafitte for the last four years, also has bachelor's and master's degrees from UNO. Kerner Elementary, which has open admission requirements, also received an A state letter grade in 2013-2014.

The three nominees - Joseph, Zapico, and Bordlee -- will go on to compete against other principals from school systems around the state -- and each other -- in the Louisiana Principal of the Year competition.

Read More

UNO College of Education and Human Development
Principals of the year in Jefferson Parish schools are Faith Joseph, Jaime Zapico, Suzanne Bordlee, The Times-Picayune, Feb. 3, 2014
Denise Rehm of Butler Elementary School named Louisiana's best principal, The Times-Picayune, July 13, 2014
Principal Denise Rehm Leads Morning Assembly, The Times-Picayune
Joshua Butler Elementary shows improvements under lauded principal, The Times-Picayune, February 21, 2014,
UNO Alumni Named 2015 Principal of the Year, Teacher of the Year
UNO Alumni Named Finalists for 2015 Principal of the Year, Teacher of the Year
Two UNO Alumni Win "Principal of the Year" and "Teacher of the Year"
UNO Alumni Dominate New Principal Appoints in Jefferson Parish Public Schools
UNO COEHD Alumni Lead Some of the Region's Most Improved Schools
UNO COEHD Interim Dean Accepted to Elite Education Management Institute
UNO COEHD Alumna Gets Kindergarteners New Science Materials
Jefferson Parish public school system announces 13 new principals, The Times-Picayune
UNO Education Professor Named Co-Editor of National Journal
Louisiana Department of Education Announces 2014 Teacher and Principal of the Year
St. Charles Parish Public Schools Prepared for a Successful Year
St. Charles Parish Public Schools Celebrate Teachers of the Year