Tuesday, July 15, 2014

UNO Alumni Named 2015 Principal of the Year, Teacher of the Year

Two University of New Orleans alumni brought home top awards in education last week, bringing home titles for Principal of the Year and Middle School Teacher of the Year.

The state Education Department named Denise Rehm, principal of Joshua Butler Elementary School in Westwego, Principal of the Year on Saturday. Rehm, who received her Master's degree in Education Administration from UNO in 2002, is a graduate of the UNO College of Education and Human Development. She was nominated for the honor by Jefferson Parish Public Schools and selected from among 15 finalists.

Rehm, who earned accolades last year for elevating Joshua Butler Elementary School from a "D" school in 2012 to a "B" level, has been the principal at Butler since 2009; she also served as the school's assistant principal for two years prior to her appointment as principal. She received the honor at the Eighth Annual Cecil J. Picard Excellence Symposium in Baton Rouge, an event is named for the former teacher and state legislator who was state education superintendent from 1996 until his death in 2007.

Another UNO alumnus Justin Burkhardt, who is currently a Master of Education student in the University's educational leadership program, was named Middle School Teacher of the Year. Burkhardt is a teacher at Andrew Jackson Middle School in Chalmette. He was nominated by St. Bernard Parish School system.

UNO has a long history of providing outstanding educational leadership throughout the region. In 2014 UNO alumni took the state titles for both "Principal of the Year" and "Teacher of the Year."


Read More

UNO College of Education and Human Development
Denise Rehm of Butler Elementary School named Louisiana's best principal, Times-Picayune
Two UNO Alumni Win "Principal of the Year" and "Teacher of the Year"
UNO Alumni Dominate New Principal Appoints in Jefferson Parish Public Schools
UNO COEHD Alumni Lead Some of the Region's Most Improved Schools
UNO COEHD Interim Dean Accepted to Elite Education Management Institute
UNO COEHD Alumna Gets Kindergarteners New Science Materials
Jefferson Parish public school system announces 13 new principals, The Times-Picayune
UNO Education Professor Named Co-Editor of National Journal
Louisiana Department of Education Announces 2014 Teacher and Principal of the Year
St. Charles Parish Public Schools Prepared for a Successful Year
St. Charles Parish Public Schools Celebrate Teachers of the Year