Friday, August 23, 2013

University of New Orleans Presents Highest Honors to Faculty and Staff

faculty convocation (from left) Professor of History Gunter Bischof, Associate Director of Orientation and First Year Experience Christy Heaton and Professor of Marketing Paul J. Hensel were recognized at fall convocation for their exceptional work ensuring the success of the University of New Orleans.

The University of New Orleans presented highest honors today to University faculty and staff members chosen by their peers as leaders who rise above the call of duty to ensure both University and department success.

The awards were presented at fall convocation, an age-old tradition restored for the first time since 2005 by President Peter J. Fos, who called for a return to traditions and celebration of UNO success. Hundreds of faculty and staff turned out for the event, which included a State of the University presentation and was held in the University Center ballroom.

The Gordon "Nick" Mueller International Leadership Medallion

The Gordon "Nick" Mueller International Leadership Medallion is "awarded to an individual who has provided significant leadership towards the internationalization of the University of New Orleans," said Fos, who together with Mueller presided over the elite selection committee.

This year's recipient was Gunter Bischof, a native of Austria and recipient of the University's Marshall Plan Anniversary Endowed Professorship. A University Research Professor of History, Bischof, is also director of CenterAustria at the University of New Orleans, where he works tirelessly to strengthen the University's relationship with the University of Innsbruck and foster international understanding through lecture series and other intellectual events open to UNO students, faculty, staff and community.

The Cooper Mackin Medallion

The Cooper Mackin Medallion honors the third Chancellor of the University of New Orleans and is awarded to a faculty or staff member who has made outstanding contributions in support of the University's mission, said Vice President of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing Kevin McLin, who chaired a selection committee made up of six faculty members.

This year's recipient is Paul J. Hensel, senior associate dean for executive and external programs and professor of marketing in the University's College of Business Administration.

The Presidential Staff Medallion

The Presidential Staff Medallion is "awarded to a staff member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the University community – an individual who has demonstrated selfless dedication to the University, is an active member of the campus community, and is an asset to his/her department or college," said Derek Rodriguez, who chaired a selection committee of six staff members.

This year's recipient is Christy Heaton, associate director of orientation and first year experience in the Office of Enrollment Services.

Heaton oversees the award-winning Orientation Leaders at UNO, student success counselors and first year academic advisers. She instituted a number of the University's outstanding first year experience programs, including the Transfer Leadership Program, Transfer Orientation, Privateer Camp, and the Privateer Plunge.


Read More

University of New Orleans Reinstitutes Tradition of Convocation