Office of the President

Read More

Dr. John Nicklow

Dr. John Nicklow is the seventh leader in the history of the University of New Orleans.  He was selected President by the University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors on March 16, 2016. 

President Nicklow

WELCOME! The University of New Orleans is a comprehensive, metropolitan, research university in one of the most exciting cities in the world. We offer a wide array of highly relevant, undergraduate and graduate academic degree programs Read More



The University of New Orleans is a comprehensive metropolitan research university committed to providing educational excellence to a diverse undergraduate and graduate student body. The University is one of the region’s foremost public resources, offering a variety of world-class, research-based programs, advancing shared knowledge and adding to the region’s industry, culture and economy. The University of New Orleans, as a global community asset, serves national and international students and enhances the quality of life in New Orleans, the state, the nation, and the world, by participating in a broad array of research, service learning, cultural and academic activities.


The University of New Orleans will be recognized as one of the preeminent metropolitan research institutions in the nation, noted for its commitment to excellence in teaching and in student success; its location in a culturally vibrant city; its innovative and relevant undergraduate, graduate, professional and research programs; and its role as a primary engine of social, economic, intellectual and cultural development in the New Orleans region and beyond.


The University of New Orleans, as an metropolitan research university, offers a number of challenging and in-demand programs, many of which are uniquely linked to the rich and vibrant city of New Orleans. The University of New Orleans grants baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral degrees in  academic colleges, including but not limited to business administration, engineering, liberal arts, education & human development, and sciences — as well as interdisciplinary studies.

University Center


UNO History

Past Leaders

  • President Peter J. Fos
    2012 - 2016
  • Chancellor Timothy P. Ryan
    2003 - 2010
  • Chancellor Gregory M. St. L. O'Brien
    1987 - 2003
  • Chancellor Cooper R. Mackin
    1983 - 1987
  • Chancellor Leon J. V. Richelle
    1980 - 1983
  • Chancellor Homer L. Hitt
    1958 - 1980