Monday, April 22, 2013

UNO College of Liberal Arts Presents Awards at Spring Convocation

The University of New Orleans' College of Liberal Arts bestowed honors upon top students at its spring convocation on Thursday. Interim Dean Kevin Graves presided. Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs James Payne welcomed students and their families with opening remarks.

Receiving the Dean's Award were four top students: Jessica Anne Dauterive, Tatiana Nneka Obioha, Anna Marie Walter and Lauren Walter. The Dean's Award is the College's highest honor.

In the spotlight stood Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Robert W. Becker, chief executive officer of City Park New Orleans. Becker is widely credited with the ongoing renovation and restoration of the park following Hurricane Katrina.

Sixteen students received Homer L. Hitt Scholarships, 14 students received Chancellor's Scholarships and 16 students received Decennial scholarships. (Homer Hitt Scholarships are the University's most prestigious awards. The scholarship, awarded based on academic merit, provides full tuition, residence hall room, board plan and a $500 annual book stipend for students.)

Department chairs also collectively conferred 48 departmental awards on behalf of their departments.

Alea Cot, assistant vice president for international education and director of the UNO Division of International Education, conferred 24 UNO International Ambassador Awards on students who had studied abroad.

Twenty-four students were named to the University's Phi Beta Kappa Club. Phi Beta Kappa is an academic honor society that aims to promote and advocate excellence in the arts and sciences. It is the oldest honor society for the liberal arts and sciences and among the oldest undergraduate societies in the U.S. To date, seventeen U.S. Presidents, 38 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and 136 Nobel Laureates have been inducted members.

Nine students received the Carl Muckley Award, a new $2,000 award granted to each philosophy major upon graduation, courtesy of a $4 million endowment by Muckley to the University's philosophy and history departments.

Read more about UNO COLA Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Robert Becker >>