UNO Faculty Members:

As you are aware, the Faculty Governance Committee has been carefully evaluating all degree programs at UNO. At this point, we have developed a preliminary report with recommendations for President Fos. Our work is not yet complete as we need to finalize priorities for program enhancement and prepare a final report. We anticipate that this remaining work will continue over the next 2-3 months.

Attached please find a copy of our preliminary report that was provided to President Fos yesterday. Deans of each college will be receiving additional information about the Faculty Governance Committee recommendations and will be asked to meet with their departments to review this information.

As part of the program evaluation process, Dr. Hansen has also prepared his recommendations to President Fos (also attached). His recommendations were made from the perspective of the Interim Vice-President for Academic Affairs. While his recommendations are somewhat different than those from the Faculty Governance Committee, the spirit and intent of his recommendations are in agreement with those of the committee. Furthermore, his recommendations were made only after careful consideration of the Faculty Governance Committee recommendations and meaningful consultations with Deans.

Combined, these two reports represent a shared governance process.

President Fos will use the two attached reports to make his decisions on programs to recommend for closure to the University of Louisiana System Board prior to its Dec. 11 meeting.

The leadership of the Faculty Governance Committee is extremely thankful to all of its members for their thoughtful, careful, and objective work through this process. We are also thankful to the department chairs for their quick and thorough responses to our requests for information.

On behalf of the entire Faculty Governance Committee,

Pamela Jenkins, Faculty Senate President Matt Tarr, Chair, Faculty Governance Committee Richard Hansen, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs

Faculty Governance Committee:

Chair Matthew Tarr

Members
Pat Austin
Edit Bourgeois
Elaine Brooks

Nancy Easterlin

Renia Ehrenfeucht

Cheryl Hayes

Pamela Jenkins

Darrell Kruger

Enrique LaMotta

Jim Logan

Marie Morgan

Jeanne Pavy

Dinah Payne

Connie Phelps

Jairo Santanilla

Wendy Schluchter

Peter Schock

Greg Seab

Tumulesh Solanky

Richard Speaker

Cherie Trumbach

Guest Members with Voting Privileges for Revitalization Process

Kevin Graves

Steven Johnson

Sharon Mader

Norman Whitley

John Williams

Ex Officio Members

Peter Fos

Richard Hansen

Kenneth Sewell