Request Info

Masaryk University

Masaryk University is located in the city of Brno, the capital of Moravia in the Masaryk University. The University was established in 1919, just as the country of Czechoslovakia was being created. As the second university founded in the Czech lands, Masaryk University is proud of its history and that the University has endured and once more flourishes, despite the oppression brought by the Second World War and forty years of communism.

Today the University is comprised of a variety of departments, institutes, and clinics, embracing a broad spectrum of academic disciplines and fields of research. As demands for increased access to higher education continue to grow, the University is preparing to develop its programs to accommodate more students to meet that need.

Note: Knowledge of the Czech language is NOT required.


Masaryk offers an exciting week long orientation including a survival Czech course, a trip to the surroundings of Brno, a visit to a local brewery, a visit to an opera or ballet, and a reception. There is also a very active International Student Club which organizes activities every week. For instance, the Czech members do tutoring for the international students, starting with picking them up upon their arrival.

Housing & Food

UNO's agreement with Masaryk no longer includes a housing/meal exchange. Students pay for housing of their choice at Masaryk.

Special Scholarship Offer from Masaryk University

Masaryk University has established the Kohn Research Scholarships for citizens of the UK and US. Applicants must be currently enrolled in doctoral degree or research-oriented Master's programs. The scholarships are intended to allow recipients to carry out their studies or do research at Masaryk University and to contribute to the activities of the departments where they are recieved. Information about the scholarships can be found here. There is no fixed deadline, so interested students can send applications throughout the year.


English Programs


Faculty of Law

Faculty of Science

  • Biology
  • Chemistry

Faculty of Arts

  • Linguistics
  • Translation
  • Literature

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Economics and Administration

  • Economics
  • Business

Faculty of Informatics

Faculty of Sport Studies

Faculty of Social Studies

  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Cultural Studies
  • Media, Radio
  • Economics
  • International Relations
  • European Studies
  • Social Policy

Central European Studies Program

  • Political Science
  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • Film
  • Music
  • Theatre
  • Literature
  • Czech Language