Uno Intranet

Research Council

Research Council provides advice and assistance to the Director for Research and Economic Development on the development of planning and policy for research at the University of New Orleans. The Research Council is an advisory body which consists of the Director, a representative from each of the colleges and the Library as recommended by the Dean, a representative from each of the Board of Regents approved centers and institutes and the Associate Director for Research. Beginning in fiscal year 2016 a member of the Faculty Senate will also serve on Research Council (this position may be someone who is also representing their college, center or institute).

The charge to the committee is to help nurture a climate that encourages new faculty to be productive in research, to sustain research activity among established faculty and to ensure that the University ranks as a major research institution.

Representing Member Home Department
Office of Research Norman L. Whitley Office of Research
Office of Research Carol Lunn Office of Research
College of Business Administration & Faculty Senate Cherie Trumbach Management & Marketing
College of Engineering Brandon Taravella Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering
College of Liberal Arts, Education and Human Development Laszlo Fulop Film & Theatre
College of Sciences Simon Lailvaux Biological Sciences
Earl K. Long Library Jeanne Pavy Scholarly Communications
Center for Hazards Assessment, Response & Technology (CHART) Monica Farris CHART
Greater New Orleans Center for Information Assurance (GNOCIA) Golden Richard Computer Science
Hospitality Research Center John Williams College of Business
Joseph Canizaro and James Livingston Gulf States Center for Environmental Informatics (GulfSCEI) Mahdi Abdelguerfi Computer Science
Merritt C. Becker Jr. UNO Transportation Institute (UNOTI) Bethany Stich Planning & Urban Studies
Pontchartrain Institute for Environmental Sciences (PIES) Martin O'Connell Earth & Environmental Sciences
Advance Materials Research Institute (AMRI) John Wiley Chemistry

Internal Awards

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs solicits proposals annually for a variety of awards. University Research Council reviews and makes recommendations for funding to the Director for Research on most of these internal awards.

Internal Grant Program

Tenured or tenure-track faculty and retained instructors can apply for the three internal grant programs:

Stimulating Competitive Research (SCoRe) - The goal of the SCoRe award is to enhance the UNO faculty's ability to successfully compete for extramural sponsored research funding. The SCoRe award is intended as seed money for faculty to develop a new area of research activity.

Creative Endeavor Opportunity (CEO) - The goal is to provide support for faculty to launch programs of research, scholarship, exhibition or performance that will ultimately result in increased research and creative activity on campus.

Student Undergraduate Experience (SUE) - SUE awards provide a research or scholarly experience for four to six undergraduates.

Research Professor Awards

Early Career Research Prize - The UNO Early Career Research Prize is a recognition for persons who hold the rank of Assistant Professor at the time of their award, and who have distinguished themselves in their creative and scholarly activities.

Research Excellence Prize - The Research Excellence Prize is a recognition for persons who have achieved the rank of Associate Professor or Professor and who have distinguished themselves in their creative and scholarly activities.

Competitive Funding Prize - The Competitive Funding Prize is a recognition for the UNO researcher who has achieved the highest of amount of competitive funding awards in the past fiscal year.

Council members can log onto the intranet to view internal documents.