Faculty and Staff

Ioannis Y. Georgiou, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Director of Pontchartrain Institute

GP 1046
504-280-1373
igeorgio@uno.edu

Earth Surface Processes, Coastal/Estuarine Hydrodynamics and Sediment Transport, Delta morphodynamics, Sediment dynamics at Barrier Islands and inlets

Mark A. Kulp, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences

GP 1029
504-280-1170
mkulp@uno.edu

Coastal Stratigraphy, sedimentology, coastal geomorphology, coastal restoration

Alex McCorquodale, Ph.D., P.E., P.Eng.
FMI Professor for Environmental Modeling, Civil and Environmental Engineering

CERM 315
504-280-6074
jmccorqu@uno.edu

Physical and numerical modeling in environmental hydraulics, Settling tank hydrodynamics, Lake and river hydrodynamics, Transport of contaminated sediments, fluvial morphodynamics

Martin T. O'Connell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences

GP 1008
504-280-4032
moconnel@uno.edu

Fish ecology, aquatic ecology, fisheries management, invasive species

William Stein III, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Research

CERM 353
504-280-1182
wstein1@uno.edu

Estuarine fish and decapod communities, water movement in the Pontchartrain Estuary, Lionfish, Cobia, Warsaw Grouper on the Louisiana coast, and the life history of Tarpon in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Faculty Affiliates

Patricia M. Williams, Ph.D., DABT
Assistant Professor Research

CERM 312
504-280-5543
pmwilli3@uno.edu

 

Staff

Jessica Gaudin
Assistant to the Director

CERM 351
504-280-4020
jlheber4@uno.edu

Finance and accounting, bookkeeping, business management

Dinah Maygarden, M.A.
Research Associate, Science Education Program Director

CERM 352
504-280-1374
dmaygard@uno.edu

K-12 science education, teacher science education

Michael Brown
Research Associate

GP 1020G
504-280-1360
mabrown@uno.edu

Field support group, operations and maintenance

Meg O’Connell
Research Associate

GP 1007
504-280-4037
auzeeoco@uno.edu

Aquatic Sciences, experimental and applied statistics for fishery science

Student Researchers

Kevin Hanegan
Student Researcher
kchaneg@uno.edu

John Kramer, III
Student Researcher
jnkrame1@uno.edu

Tara Yocum
Student Researcher
tyocum@uno.edu

Iain Kelly
Student Researcher
ikelly@uno.edu

Lucy Green
Student Researcher

llgreen@uno.edu