DST Crest

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Chapter Name: Mu Tau 
National Founding: 1913 
Chapter Founding: 1976 
National Web Site: deltasigmatheta.org 
Official Colors: Crimson and Creme 
Nickname: Deltas 
Philanthropy: Five Point Thrust Focusing on Physical & Mental Health, Educational Development, Economic Development, International Awareness & Involvement, Political Awareness & Involvement 
Chapter President: Rondolyn Bryant
Chapter Advisor: Burnell Offord

Organization and Chapter History

DSTDelta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. A devoted sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women, the Sorority currently has over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.

The members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. represent a unique segment of the nation's demographic profile. Delta women are movers and shakers--they hold political offices, own businesses and are influential in a range of fields from medicine to law to education. Most Deltas are employed in education as teachers, school administrators, counselors, professors, and higher education administrators. Other occupations frequently reported include management, social sciences, social work, medicine/health, law, engineering, architecture, the performing arts, information sciences, public administration (federal, state, and local levels), the judiciary, journalism, and religion.

The Mu Tau chapter was founded on the campus of the University of New Orleans on January 18, 1976. This chapter began with the following: Pamela Alcorn, Pamela Alfred, Desra Germany, Carolyn Green, Patricia Green, Sherri James, Rhessa Richards, Lynne Russell, Deborah Spurlock and Carolyn Young. Their perseverance and legacy is greatly cherished.