Faculty

Rick Barton

Fredrick Barton
Research Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-5421
fbarton@uno.edu

Books:The El Cholo Feeling PassesCourting PandemoniumWith Extreme PrejudiceA House Divided

Randy Bates

Randy Bates
Associate Professor (Nonfiction, Poetry)

504-280-6134
rbates1@uno.edu

Book:Rings: On the Life and Family of a Southern Fighter (New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

John Gery

John Gery
Research Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6361
jgery@uno.edu

Books: Davenport's Version (Portals, 2003), A Gallery of Ghosts (UNO P, 2008), Lure/Mamac (bilingual, tr. by Svetlana Nedeljkov, 2012) Have At You Now (2014)

Richard Goodman

Richard Goodman
Assistant Professor (Nonfiction)

504-280-7135
rgoodman@uno.edu

Books:The Bicycle Diaries: One New Yorker's Journey Through 9-11; French Dirt: The Story of a Garden in the South of France.

Creative Director:Storyville on WWNO Radio

Carolyn Hembree

Carolyn Hembree
Assistant Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6491
chembree@uno.edu

Poetry:Skinny (Kore Press, 2012)

Barb JohnsonBarb Johnson
Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-6329
bajohns3@uno.edu

Book:More of This World or Maybe Another (HarperPerennial)

Selected Publications: Wall Street JournalGlimmer Train, Washington Square, The Greensboro Review, 52 Stories, Guernica, Yemassee and Oxford American.

Joanna LeakeJoanna Leake 
Professor
(Fiction, Screenwriting)

504-280-6407
jbleake@uno.edu

Book: A Few Days in Weasel Creek 

Selected Publications: Intro anthology, Cultural Vistas, Xavier Review, The Panhandler, Louisville Review and Apalachee Review

Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell 
Assistant Professor (Playwriting)

504-280-7213
jmaxwell@uno.edu

Play: An Outopia for Pigeons

Selected Publications: Minnesota Playlist, Minnesota History, Contemporary Theatre Review, Rain Taxi Review of Books, The Onion: America’s Finest News Source

M.O. "Neal" WalshM.O. "Neal" Walsh
Director of the Creative Writing Workshop    Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-3133
mowalsh@uno.edu

Books: My Sunshine Away (forthcoming, Amy Einhorn Books- Putnam/Penguin); The Prospect of Magic (Livingston Press)

Selected Publications:The New York Times, American Short Fiction, American Book Review, Epoch, Oxford American, Story South and LitnImage, Best New American Voices, Best of the Net, Louisiana in Words and Bar Stories

 

Associate Faculty

Reine BoutonReine Bouton 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Amanda BoydenAmanda Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Books:Pretty Little Dirty and Babylon Rolling

Amanda BoydenJoseph Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Books: The Orenda;Through Black Spruce, winner of the 2008 Scotiabank Giller Prize; Three Day RoadBorn with a Tooth

Mary BreenMary Breen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Irish Literature and Culture)
Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Gina FerraraGina Ferrara

Guest Artist
(Poetry)

504-280-6276

 BooksEthereal Avalanche (Trembling Pillow Press); The Size of Sparrows (Finishing Line Press) Amber Porch Light 

Henry GriffinHenry Griffin
Artist in Residence
(Screenwriting)

504-280-6804
hgriffin@uno.edu

Industry Awards: South-by-Southwest, the Seattle International Film Festival, the Chicago International Film Festival, and the Message-to-Man Film Festival (St. Petersburg, Russia)

Erik HansenErik Hansen
Artist in Residence (Screenwriting)

504-280-6808
ehansen@uno.edu

Industry Experience: “Heart & Souls,” “The Dog Ate It”

Miles HarveyMiles Harvey

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction and Fiction)

504-280-6276

Kristen IversenKristen Iversen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction)

504-280-6276

Sonja LivingstonSonja Livingston 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Nonfiction)

504-280-6276

Peter Lutze

Peter Lutze
Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Cinema)

504-280-6276

Lish McBride

Lish McBride
Guest Artist
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Jim Winter

Jim Winter
Guest Artist (Playwriting/Acting)

504-280-6276

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Carol GeldermanCarol Gelderman
Professor Emeritus (Nonfiction)

504-280-6276
cgelderman@uno.edu

Biographies: Henry Ford, The Wayward Capitalist; Mary McCarthy, A Life; and Louis Auchincloss, A Writer's Life

Kay Murphy

Kay Murphy
Professor Emeritus
(Poetry)

504-280-6276
kamurph1@uno.edu

Poetry Collections:The Autopsy and Belief Blues