Faculty

Rick Barton

Fredrick Barton
Director of the Creative Writing Workshop 
Research Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-5421
fbarton@uno.edu

Novels:The El Cholo Feeling PassesCourting PandemoniumWith Extreme PrejudiceA House Divided

Randy Bates

Randy Bates
Associate Professor (Nonfiction, Poetry)

504-280-6134
rbates1@uno.edu

Books:Rings: On the Life and Family of a Southern Fighter (New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

John Gery

John Gery
Research Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6361
jgery@uno.edu

Selected Poetry: Davenport's Version (Portals, 2003), A Gallery of Ghosts (UNO P, 2008), Lure/Mamac (bilingual, tr. by Svetlana Nedeljkov, 2012)

Richard Goodman

Richard Goodman
Assistant Professor (Nonfiction)

504-280-7135
rgoodman@uno.edu

Recent book:The Bicycle Diaries: One New Yorker's Journey Through 9-11

Carolyn Hembree

Carolyn Hembree
Assistant Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6491
chembree@uno.edu

Poetry:Skinny (Kore Press, 2012)

Barb JohnsonBarb Johnson
Director of Creative Writing Low-Residency MFA Program
Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

Short Stories:More of This World or Maybe Another (HarperPerennial, 2009)

Joanna LeakeJoanna Leake 
Professor
(Fiction, Screenwriting)

504-280-6407
jbleake@uno.edu

Work: A Few Days in Weasel Creek

Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell 
Assistant Professor (Playwriting)

504-280-7213
jmaxwell@uno.edu

Play: An Outopia for Pigeons

Publications: Minnesota Playlist, Minnesota History, Contemporary Theatre Review, Rain Taxi Review of Books, The Onion: America’s Finest News Source

M.O. "Neal" WalshM.O. "Neal" Walsh
Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-6803
mowalsh@uno.edu

Essays and stories have appeared in: The New York Times, American Short FictionAmerican Book Review, Epoch, Oxford American, Story South and LitnImage, Best New American VoicesBest of the NetLouisiana in Words and  Bar Stories

 

Associate Faculty

Reine BoutonReine Bouton 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Fiction)

504-280-6329

Amanda BoydenAmanda Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6273

Novels:Pretty Little Dirty and Babylon Rolling

Amanda BoydenJoseph Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6273

Selected Work:Through Black Spruce
Winner of the 2008 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Mary BreenMary Breen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Irish Literature and Culture)
Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6329

Gina FerraraGina Ferrara

Guest Artist
(Poetry)

504-280-6329

 

Henry GriffinHenry Griffin
Artist in Residence
(Screenwriting)

504-280-6804
hgriffin@uno.edu

Awards: South-by-Southwest, the Seattle International Film Festival, the Chicago International Film Festival, and the Message-to-Man Film Festival (St. Petersburg, Russia)

Erik HansenErik Hansen
Artist in Residence (Screenwriting)

504-280-6808
ehansen@uno.edu

Industry Experience: “Heart & Souls,” “The Dog Ate It”

Miles HarveyMiles Harvey

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction and Fiction)

504-280-6329

Kristen IversenKristen Iversen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction)

504-280-6329

Sonja LivingstonSonja Livingston 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Nonfiction)

504-280-6329

Peter Lutze

Peter Lutze
Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Cinema)

504-280-6329

Lish McBride

Lish McBride
Guest Artist
(Fiction)

504-280-6329

Jim Winter

Jim Winter
Guest Artist (Playwriting/Acting)

504-280-6273

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Carol GeldermanCarol Gelderman
Professor Emeritus (Nonfiction)

504-280-6273
cgelderman@uno.edu

Biographies: Henry Ford, The Wayward Capitalist; Mary McCarthy, A Life; and Louis Auchincloss, A Writer's Life

Kay Murphy

Kay Murphy
Professor Emeritus
(Poetry)

504-280-6273
kamurph1@uno.edu

Poetry Collections:The Autopsy and Belief Blues