Zhaoming Qian, Ph.D.Qian

Chancellor's Research Professor Emeritus


Email: zqian2026@outlook.com 


Education: Ph.D., Tulane, 1991

Zhaoming Qian’s teaching and research interests focus on American modernism, interart relations, East-West comparative poetics, and Asian American literature. While he has taught and written about English and Irish writers (from Shakespeare to Joyce), his recent work has addressed the interconnection between American modernism and the Orient.

Dr. Qian joined the UNO English faculty in 1991. During his years at UNO, he has published six books, including Orientalism and Modernism: The Legacy of China in Pound and Williams (1995) and The Modernist Response to Chinese Art: Pound, Moore, Stevens (2003), which helped inspire the 1996 Yale conference on "Modernism and the Orient" and the 2004 Cambridge conference on "Orientalism and Modernism, " respectively.  His 2008 book titled Ezra Pound's Chinese Friends makes available for the first time the forgotten stories of Pound and his Chinese peers. His most recent books are Modernism and the Orient (2012), Ezra Pound among Chinese Talents (2015) and a centennial edition of Ezra Pound's Cathay (2015).  He is currently at work on intercultural collaboration and late modernism.

Formerly Y. C. Tang Chair Professor and founding Director of the Center for Modernist Studies at Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, China, Dr. Qian is now Qiantang Visiting Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Hangzhou Normal University, where he lectures and engages in collaborative projects 1-2 months each year. He was honored as a Yale Beinecke Fellow in 1992, a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellow in 1998, Convenor of the Ezra Pound International Conference in Beijing in 1999, a Franklin Research Fellow of the American Philosophical Society in 2003, a Yale Comparative Literature Fellow in 2005, UNO Chancellor's Research Professor in 2009, and a Chinese Academy of Social Sciences grantee in 2013-14. Other honors given him include a Tulane Richard Perrill Adams prize (1990), three UNO research awards (1993, 1995, 1996), and lecture invitations from Yale (1996), Salamanca (2000), Fudan (2003), Cambridge (2004), the Chinese University of Hong Kong (2012), and Soochow University (2015).

Qian's Selected Pubs

Selected Publications

Selected articles available for download at scholarworks@uno.edu.