Faculty and Staff

The English faculty is dedicated to providing a traditional Liberal Arts experience and serving the practical needs of its students and, in turn, the metropolitan community. They have won University Teaching Awards in fourteen of the last seventeen years and are dedicated to scholarship and creative projects that enhance their teaching. In addition, many have won major awards and grants for their research and have achieved national and international recognition in their fields.

Full-Time Faculty | Graduate Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Administration

LA 201D
504-280-6274
pschock@uno.edu

Areas: English Romanticism, Shakespeare, Spenser, Milton, and the history of criticism and literary theory

PocheReggie J. Poché
Assistant Chair

LA 291A
504-280-6469
rjpoche3@uno.edu

Areas: fiction writing, first-year writing, technical and professional writing, professional editing, and New Orleans literature 

Anne Boyd RiouxAnne Boyd Rioux, Ph.D.
Graduate Coordinator

LA 297
504-280-6484
aeboyd@uno.edu

Areas: American literature, women's literature, and life writing

Patricia RogerPatricia Roger, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Coordinator

LA 291
504-280-6194
pmroger@uno.edu

Areas: nineteenth-century American literature, New Orleans literature, and first-year writing

RichardsonShelby Richardson, Ph.D.
Chair of First-Year Writing

LA 201B
504-280-6275
elovell@uno.edu

Areas: Renaissance and medieval literature and drama, eighteenth-century women's literature, and first-year writing

M.O. "Neal" WalshM. O. Walsh
Director of the Creative Writing Workshop

LA 285
504-280-3133
CWW@uno.edu

Areas: fiction writing, Southern literature, short stories, magical realism, and fabulism

Inge FinkInge Fink
Director of the Writing Center

LA 334
504-280-7159
ifink@uno.edu

Areas: drama, technical writing, and first-year writing

Katie ChosaKatie Chosa
Coordinator Associate of Graduate and Undergraduate English

LA 201E
504-280-6276
kchosa@uno.edu

Areas: first-year writing and New Orleans literature 

Ashley HemmAshley Hemm
Coordinator Associate of First-Year Writing and Creative Writing

LA 201
504-280-6275
anhemm@uno.edu

Areas:  first-year writing

 

Full-time Faculty

Janet SmithJanet Barnwell Smith, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 387
504-280-6818
jbsmith5@uno.edu

Areas: American literature (Civil War to present), New Orleans literature, and first-year writing

LA 183
504-280-6134
rbates1@uno.edu

Areas:  nonfiction writing, poetry writing, and contemporary literature 

LA 351
504-280-3962
ebryant@uno.edu

Areas: African American literature and English Renaissance literature

Dan DollDan Doll, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 271
504-280-6362
ddoll@uno.edu

Areas: eighteenth-century British literature, the diary, and the novel as genre

Nancy EasternlinNancy Easterlin, Ph.D.
University Research Professor
Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

LA 317
504-280-6384
neasterl@uno.edu

Areas: British Romanticism, prose fiction, literary criticism and theory, and women’s studies

J. Scott FarrinJ. Scott Farrin
Retained Instructor

LA 187
504-280-7324
jfarrin@uno.edu

Areas: fiction writing, first-year writing, and journalism

Barbara FitzpatrickBarbara Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 361
504-280-6475
bfitzpat@uno.edu

Areas: eighteenth-century British literature, the novel, Jane Austen, Irish fiction, book and periodical history

John GeryJohn R.O. Gery
Research Professor

LA 365
504-280-6361
jgery@uno.edu

Areas: poetry writing, modern and contemporary British and American poetry, early American poetry, women's poetry, American immigrant poetry, anglophone Caribbean poetry, poetics, and poetry as genre

Richard GoodmanRichard Goodman
Assistant Professor

LA 273
504-280-7135
rgoodman@uno.edu

Areas: nonfiction writing and contemporary literature

John HazlettJohn Hazlett, Ph.D.
Director, B.A. in International Studies Program

MH 237
504-280-1136
jhazlett@uno.edu

Areas: American literature, American autobiography, nonfiction prose studies, gender studies, nature and environmental writing, and travel writing

Carolyn HembreeCarolyn Hembree
Assistant Professor

LA 379
504-280-6476
chembree@uno.edu

Areas: poetry writing and contemporary poetry

Barb JohnsonBarb Johnson
Assistant Professor

LA 277
504-280-6329
bajohns3@uno.edu

Areas: fiction writing and contemporary literature

Jennifer KuchtaJennifer Kuchta
Retained Instructor

LA 325
504-280-6466
jkuchta@uno.edu

Areas: fiction writing, New Orleans literature, and first-year writing 

Elizabeth LewisElizabeth Lewis, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 165
504-280-7321
emlewis1@uno.edu

Areas: British and American Modernism, performance studies, and dance in literature

LA 177
504-280-6113
cloomis@uno.edu

Areas: Shakespeare and early modern English drama

Kevin Kevin Marti, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 173
504-280-7248
kmarti@uno.edu

Areas: Middle English literature, Dante, Gothic architecture 

Kim MartinKim Martin
Instructor

LA 327
504-280-6462
kmartin@uno.edu

Areas: American literature, technical communication, and first-year writing

Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell
Assistant Professor

LA 287
504-280-7078
jmaxwell@uno.edu

Areas: playwriting and contemporary theater

Kim McDonaldKim McDonald
Retained Instructor

LA 371
504-280-6473
kmcdonal@uno.edu

Areas: composition theory and practice, pedagogical approaches in the teaching of writing, and first-year writing

Niyi OsundareNiyi Osundare, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor

LA 313
504-280-6455
oosunda1@uno.edu

Areas: African literature, literature of the African diaspora, world poetry, oral literature, creative writing, literary stylistics and sociolinguistics, and literary theory and poetics. 

Doreen PianoDoreen Piano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 333
504-280-6457
dpiano@uno.edu

Areas: literacy studies, rhetoric and writing, visual culture, place-based pedagogy, third-wave feminism 

Ken RayesKen Rayes
Instructor

LA 181
504-280-7323
krayes@uno.edu

Areas: first-year writing, film as literature, technical writing, science fiction literature, American literature, Latino literature, and the graphic novel

David RutledgeDavid Rutledge, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 195
504-280-7196
drutledg@uno.edu

Areas: American literature, New Orleans literature, Joyce Carol Oates, Vladimir Nabokov, Emily Dickinson, Shakespeare, and first-year writing

LA 281
504-280-5415
rshenk@uno.edu

Areas: technical editing, classical rhetoric, and the Bible as literature

SteebyElizabeth Steeby, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 269
504-280-5422
esteeby@uno.edu

Areas: U.S. Modernism, Southern literature, New Orleans regional literature, and gender and sexuality studies

Lisa VernerLisa Verner, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 329
504-280-6464
lverner@uno.edu

Areas: medieval literature, the Bible. Classics, women's and gender studies, and first-year writing

Robin WernerRobin Werner, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 175
504-280-7322
rwerner@uno.edu

Areas: Victorian literature, women's and gender studies, theatre history, fantasy and children's literature, and first-year writing

Leslie WhiteLeslie White, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 335
504-280-6690
ltwhite@uno.edu

Areas: Victorian literature and British Modernism 

Emeritus Faculty

top

Fredrick Barton
Professor Emeritus
fbarton@uno.edu

Linda Blanton, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
lblanton@uno.edu

Carol Gelderman, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
cgelderm@uno.edu

Kenneth Holditch, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Georgette Ioup, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
georgetteioup@yahoo.com

Kris Lackey, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
klackey@uno.edu

Joanna Leake
Professor Emeritus 
jbleake@uno.edu

Cooper Mackin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Malcolm Magaw, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Carl Malmgren, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
cmalmgre@uno.edu

Michael E. Mooney, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
mmooney@uno.edu

Kay Murphy
Professor Emeritus
kamurph1@uno.edu

Miriam Miller, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
MYMiller@uno.edu

Elizabeth Penfield
Professor Emeritus
epenfiel@uno.edu

Zhaoming Qian, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
zqian2026@outlook.com