Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Lothar BirkLothar Birk, Dr.-Ing., P.E.
Associate Professor
Department Chair
Undergraduate Program Coordinator

EN 911
504-280-6183
lbirk@uno.edu

Form parameter based hull design; Hydrodynamic shape optimization and optimization algorithms; Wave-body interaction, stochastic analysis and panel methods; Design assessment criteria.

Samuel ChartersSamuel B. Charters, P.E.
Adjunct Instructor

EN 911
504-280-7180
sambcharters@aol.com

ship design, marine piping systems, and technical project leadership.

Arthur DardenArthur D. Darden, Jr.
Adjunct Professor

EN 911
504-280-7180
504-832 3952
Email Mr. Darden

Qualified as an expert in the fields of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering for United States District Courts in Louisiana and Florida, Parish Courts in the State of Louisiana and Civil District Court in Orleans Parish.

Thomas DobieThomas G. Dobie, Ph.D.
Professor
Director and Human Engineering Head of National Biodynamics Laboratory

EN 931
504-280 7482
tdobie@uno.edu

 

Christine M. IkedaChristine M. Ikeda, PhD
Assistant Professor

EN 934
504-280-7184
cikeda@uno.edu

Experimental studies on fluid-structure interactions; hydrodynamic loading effects on ship hulls and offshore structures; composite structures

EN 911
504-280-7180
ltahvild@uno.edu

 

Pamel PilarosciaPamela J. Pilaroscia, MSc
Adjunct Instructor

EN 911
504-280-7180
Email Ms. Pilaroscia

 

Pamel PilarosciaBret A. Silewicz, MSc
Adjunct Instructor

EN 911
504-280-7180
bsilewic@uno.edu

 

Brandon TaravellaBrandon M. Taravella, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Coordinator

EN 931
504-280-6643
bmtarave@uno.edu

Marine Hydrodynamics; Dynamics; Marine structures; Hydroelasticity

Nikolas XirosNikolas I. Xiros, Dr. Eng.
Associate Professor

504-280-3130
nxiros@uno.edu

Dr. Xiros' research interests lie within the fields of marine, electrical and ocean engineering and include process modeling and simulation, system dynamics, identification and control, reliability, signal and data analysis.

 

Retired Colleagues

Robert LatorreRobert G. Latorre, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

EN 935
504-280-7180
rlatorre@uno.edu

 

William VorusWilliam S. Vorus, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

504-280-7181
wvorus@uno.edu

Marine hydrodynamics; Marine structures and dynamics; Propulsion

 

Staff

Jan B. Felix
Office Administration
Phone: 504-280-7180 or 504-858-6148
Email: jfelix@uno.edu

George R. Morrissey
Facilities Director
Phone: 504-280-3118
Email: grmorris@uno.edu

Ryan D. Thiel
Research Engineer
Phone: 504-280-7387
Email: rthiel@uno.edu