Economics and Finance Faculty

Walter J. Lane, Ph.D.Walter J. Lane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
B.A., Point Loma College
Ph.D., University of California

438C Kirschman Hall
504-280-7145
wlane@uno.edu

Health Care Economics

Neal Maroney, Ph.D.Neal Maroney, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Claremont Graduate School

474 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6485
504-280-6908
dfinec@uno.edu
nmaroney@uno.edu

Investments, International Finance, and Financial Market Anomalies

Peihwang Wei, Ph.D.Peihwang Wei, Ph.D.
Commission Professor of Finance
Ph.D.

438D Kirschman Hall
504-280-6602
pwei@uno.edu

Market Microstructure, Options and Futures, and International Finance

Hesham Abdel-Rahman, Ph. D.Hesham Abdel-Rahman, Ph. D.
Louisiana Real Estate Commission Professor of Economics
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

425 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7343
habdelra@uno.edu

City Systems and Trade, Urban Land Use, Location Theory, Economic Growth, Labor Market and Income Disparity, and Urban Development, Urban Productivity

James R. Davis, Ph. D.James R. Davis, Ph. D.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia

421 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7148
jrdavis1@uno.edu

Public Finance, History of Economic Theory, and Managerial Economics

Gerald Whitney, Ph.D.Gerald Whitney, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Tulane University

427 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6903
gwhitney@uno.edu

Econometrica, Review of Economics and Statistics, Journal of Political Economy, Journal of Econometrics, and the Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking

Mohammad Kabir Hassan Ph. D. Mohammad Kabir Hassan Ph. D.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln

408G Kirschman Hall
504-280-6163
mhassan@uno.edu

Financial Institutions and Markets, Emerging Markets and Financial Development, International Finance, Applied Economics, Corporate Finance, Islamic Economics, Banking and Finance

Sudha Krishnaswami, Ph. D.Sudha Krishnaswami, Ph. D.
Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

408G Kirschman Hall
504-280-6163
skrishn1@uno.edu

Corporate Restructuring, Financing Choices, and Corporate Governance

Ivan Miestchovich, Ph.D.Ivan Miestchovich, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director, Real Estate Market Data Center and Center for Economic Development
Ph.D.

430 Kirschman Hall
504-280-1408
imiestch@uno.edu

 

Tarun Mukherjee, Ph.D.Tarun Mukherjee, Ph.D.
James R. Moffett Chair in Financial Economics
Ph.D.

431 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7146
tmukherj@uno.edu

 

Atsuyuki Naka, Ph. D.Atsuyuki Naka, Ph. D.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona

469 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6896
anaka@uno.edu

International Finance, Financial Markets, Asset Pricing Models, Macro Finance, and Real Estate Finance

Janet Speyrer, Ph.D.Janet Speyrer, Ph.D.
Director of the Division of Business and Economic Research
Ph.D.,Johns Hopkins University

382 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6981
jspeyrer@uno.edu

Affordable Housing, Economic Development, Neighborhood Revitalization, Gaming Impacts

Arja Turunen-Red, Ph. D.Arja Turunen-Red, Ph. D.
Professor
Ph.D., British Columbia

423 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6912
aturunen@uno.edu

International Trade Theory, Social Choice Theory, Economic Growth and Growth Cycles in Open Economies

Ilhan Demiralp, Ph.D.Ilhan Demiralp, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D.

 
 

Wei Wang, Ph.D.Wei Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.

438D Kirschman Hall
504-280-6270
wwang7@uno.edu

 

Duygu Zirek, Ph.D.Duygu Zirek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.

 

Wade Ragas, Ph.DWade Ragas, Ph.D
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D.

 
 

John Altazan, Ph.D.John Altazan, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois

300 Bachelor of Arts
504-280-6434
jaltazan@uno.edu

 

Oscar Varela, Ph.D.Oscar Varela, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D.

 
 

Timothy P. Ryan, Ph.D.Timothy P. Ryan, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D.

 
 

Michael EasleyMichael Easley
Instructor in Statistics

504-280-7419
weasley@uno.edu

 

Roy BassRoy Bass
Adjunct Professor

 
 

Mark RosaMark Rosa
Adjunct Professor

417 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6485
mrosa@uno.edu

 

Ralph C. Freilbert, IIIRalph C. Freilbert, III
Adjunct Professor