Tuesday, November 15, 2016

UNO Awards Research Grants to 20 Undergraduate Students

banner image

Twenty University of New Orleans undergraduate students have been awarded grants to conduct research in their fields of study under a faculty mentor.

More than 120 students applied for the sought-after Privateer Undergraduate Research and Scholarly UNO Experience (PURSUE) awards. Organized by the Center for Undergraduate Research/Office of Research, the program aims to introduce all UNO undergraduate students to research opportunities and to provide a mechanism for students to find faculty research mentors.

Ten freshmen and sophomores will receive $1,000 awards in the form of student worker positions paid at $10 an hour, while the 10 juniors and seniors who were selected will get $1,500 awards in the form of student worker positions paid at $15 an hour.

These students and their mentors will be recognized at the Researchers Reception & Awards Ceremony on Nov. 30 in the Geoghegan Grand Ballroom located in the Homer L. Hitt Alumni and Visitors Center.

The research awards program began in 2015 and highlights the wealth of research opportunities available to all students at UNO. To find out more about this program and other undergraduate research opportunities, click here.


Faculty Mentor



Kailyn Bridwell

Mohammad Kabir Hassan

Accounting/Economics & Finance

Bianca Canizares

Jerome Howard

Biological Sciences

Jacob Frick

Wendy Schluchter

Biological Sciences

Logan Guillory

Kim Jovanovich

Electrical Engineering

Banan Ibrahim

Irfan Ahmed

Computer Science

Shakar Karki

Ting Wang

Mechanical Engineering

Reecha Khanal

Minhaz Zibran

Computer Science

James Lightell

Marc Bonis

Human Performance and Health Promotion

Nishan Rayamajhee

Stephen Ware

Computer Science

Sarah Sheppard

Martin O'Connell

Earth and Environmental Sciences


Nora Bloemer

Mary Clancy

Biological Sciences

Celena Chouest

Sonia Rubens


Emily DiGiovanna

Kim Jovanovich

Physics/Electrical Engineering

Nailah Ellis

Erik Hansen

Film Arts

Gaurav Gyawali

Steven Rick


Ahmad Karkoutli

Joel Atallah

Biological Sciences

Alexander Leigh

D. Ryan Gray


Lyndsey Nuebel

David Beriss


Winifred Unah

Weilie Zhou

Electrical Engineering

Halley Venn

Sonia Rubens


Read More:

Undergraduate Research Council Announces First-Ever PURSUE Awards
Student Research at UNO
Privateer Undergraduate Research and Scholarly UNO Experience
Center for Undergraduate Research
Undergraduate Research Council