Monday, May 16, 2016

UNO Department of Film and Theatre to be Honored as Southern Rep 2016 Supporter of the Year

banner image

Southern Rep Theatre has announced that the University of New Orleans Department of Film and Theatre will be honored as the theatre company’s 2016 supporter of the year. The recognition will take place during Southern Rep’s annual gala on Monday, May 23 at the Windsor Court Hotel. The award for supporter of the year acknowledges contributions with a significant and lasting effect on the theatre season.

Among the reasons the accolade, a press release from Southern Rep cited a valuable partnership with UNO that provided a year-long residency for the theatre company at UNO’s Robert E. Nims Theatre. Additionally, award-winning plays from UNO students have been recognized nationally by the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival and locally by the Big Easy Awards.

“UNO’s incredible faculty and talented students have enriched our artistic process immeasurably,” a statement from Southern Rep read.

“Our upcoming co-production of ‘Airline Highway’ this fall will be a fitting culmination of a wonderful partnership,” the statement said.

Other honorees at the annual gala will include Southern Rep board member Robert Rooth of Chaffe McCall, L.L.C., who will receive the Excellence in Leadership Award, and actress and radio personality Samantha Beaulieu, who will receive the Young Guard Award for commitment, talent and generosity of spirit.

The theme of the 2016 gala is “30 Years in Revue.” The event includes a formal dinner and highlights from past award-winning theatrical productions. Actress and singer Leslie Castay is the evening’s official hostess. She will be joined by Janet Shea, Clint Johnson and other special guests. Harry Mayronne Jr. will provide musical accompaniment for live performances. Cast members from Southern Rep’s upcoming production of “Colossal” will also appear, as well as burlesque entertainers Trixie Minx and Fleur de Tease.

Cocktails and a silent auction begin at 6:30 p.m., followed at 7:30 p.m. by the formal dinner, musical performances, live auction and the presentation of awards. Limited tickets are available by calling (504) 522-6545 or visiting