Tuition and Fees
Important Notice to UNO Students Regarding Credit Card and Debit Card Payments
Beginning April 2, 2012, the University of New Orleans will institute changes to its
policies regarding the use of credit and debit cards to pay for tuition and fees (including
prior balances). A new fee of 2.5% will be charged to those using credit or debit
cards to pay for tuition and fees. This fee is in accordance with Louisiana Revised
Statute 49:316.1, and most other Louisiana universities already have this fee in place.
In addition, Only VISA/ Mastercard, American Express and Discover will only be accepted
through our online Webstar portal. The Bursar's office will no longer accept credit
or debit cards of any type for payments of tuition and fees at the Bursar's counter
or over the phone. Kiosks will be set up in the Bursar's Office to provide easy access
for VISA/ Mastercard, American Express, and Discover online payments with credit or
debit cards. This new policy will not impact how UNO's Bookstore, Lakefront Arena
and other campus units accept credit/debit cards for goods and services. Only tuition
and fees will be affected.
Please make note of these changes as they will affect any receivable balance including
the upcoming summer semester.
Below is a detailed description of the course fees on your student account. You can view a complete list of the University's fees on
the registrar's website. Please note that all fees are NON-REFUNDABLE after the 100% deadline date for each
Academic Excellence Fee - Used to enhance academic excellence at the University, including the hiring of
faculty to teach additional course sections needed to meet student needs, reduction
of class sizes to improve the quality of instruction, operation of instructional facilities
to serve UNO's student population, and support services at the heart of the academic
enterprise, notably libraries and computing. This fee is $10 per credit hour with
a maximum of $120 per semester.
Administrative Fee - Students who withdraw within the first five business days of the semester are charged
a $50 Administrative fee. In addition, all non-refundable fees (Registration/Late
Registration Fee and International Fee) will stay on the student's account.
Past semester administration fee can be viewed within the Holds, Withdrawal and Fees
section of the website on the Administrative Fee Table page.
Audit Course - Tuition and fees for audit classes are the same as enrolling in a credit course.
Non-resident students will not be assessed the non-residency fee if the audit course
is their only class. Please be aware that certain scholarships may not cover an audit
course's tuition and fees. For any questions regarding scholarships or financial aid,
please contact the Financial Aid and Scholarships Office or visit their website.
Distance Learning Fee- This fee is used to support the extra resources utilized by enrolling in distance
learning courses. The fee is imposed for each distance learning course taken by a
student which includes internet, compressed video, and televised classes. (All sections
in the 400 series).The rate is $20 per course enrolled.
Extended Payment Plan Option (EPPO) Fee - A $50.00 non-refundable EPPO Fee will be assessed to all students who choose to
use the EPPO. If you do not elect the EPPO and only pay the minimum balance due by
the published due date, you will still be charged the $50 non-refundable EPPO fee.
Graduate Enhancement Fee - This fee is a refundable fee used to support the extra expenses associated with
the University's graduate school programs and is in addition to the academic excellence
fee. The Graduate Enhancement Fee is applied only if a student is classified as a
graduate student. The fee is $33.00 per credit hour with no maximum. (Please note
that Pre-MBA students are classified as graduate students and will be charged the
Graduate Enhancement Fee. Students classified as GMBA and EMBA are excluded from the
Health Insurance Plans - Please contact the Student Health Services Office for questions regarding insurance
plans. The Student Health Services website has a table for health insurance cost breakdowns
International Fee – These funds are used by the University to better manage the increased workload
caused by the growth of internal student enrollments and new federal compliance requirements.
Rate is $150.
Late Registration Fee - This fee is used to support the additional administrative costs required to adjust
faculty and facility needs whenever a student enrolls during late registration. Rate
is $50 and nonrefundable.
Late Payment Fee - This is a $50 nonrefundable fee assessed onto a student's account if the minimum
required payment is not made by the start of Late Registration. These dates change
every semester and are posted on WebSTAR, students' fee bills, and the Registrar and
Bursar Office's websites.
MBA Fee – The Louisiana State Legislature and Governor approved Act No. 788 which authorized
the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University Agriculture and Mechanical
College to impose a Professional Program Fee (PPF) in the MBA program at the University
of New Orleans. This fee is invested to support the MBA program by reducing the size
of MBA classes, increasing the number of electives through the hiring of qualified
faculty, enhancing the MBA program's promotion, placement and alumni relations activities,
raising the stipend of current graduate assistants, and increasing the number of available
assistantships. This fee is a nonrefundable and does not apply to Pre-MBA students.
| MBA Additional Fees
||Fall 2012 - Spring 2013
|6 Hours and Up
|9 Hours and Up
Miscellaneous Lab Fees - Used to enhance and maintain lab equipment/supplies to ensure students receive
the best educational experience while enrolled in the University's lab courses. See
the Office of the Registrar for a complete list of classes with lab fees.
Non-Resident Fee - This fee is charged to accounts when the student is not a resident of Louisiana.
To establish residency, please contact the Office of Admissions.
Off Campus Fee - The Off Campus Fee is allocated to support the cost of maintaining satellite campus
facilities, which provides students with more options for taking off campus classes.
Rate is $75 per course.
Operational Fee - The operational fee was imposed by the 2004 Legislature to cover unfunded state
mandates. This includes increases in the retirement system costs, health insurance
costs not funded through the state general fund appropriation, and the enhancement
of instructional programs at the University.
Registration Fee - A non refundable $10 fee assessed to full-time and part-time students for completion
of the registration process.
State Surcharge (Credit Card Convenience Fee) - Beginning April 2, 2012, the University will charge a 2.5% Credit Card Convenience
Fee for all credit and debit card payments toward tuition and fees. This fee is in
accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 49:316.1, and it allows public institutions
of higher education to recover some of the costs paid by the University for credit/debit
card payments. In conjunction with this new fee, the University will no longer take
credit/debit card payments at the bursar's counter and will no longer accept Visa
through WebSTAR (MasterCard and American Express are still accepted).
Technology Fee - This fee is assessed at $5.00 per credit hour up to a maximum of $75 per semester.
The fee is dedicated to the acquisition, installation, maintenance, and intelligent
use of state-of-the-art technology, solely for the purpose of supporting and enhancing
student life while preparing graduates for the workplaces of the twenty-first century.
Utility Surcharge (Fuel Recovery) - The fee is used to meet energy costs which exceed the University's allotted energy
budget. All funds collected are restricted and can only be applied to energy costs
that exceed the energy budget. These funds are used only after all budgeted state
dollars for utilities are expended. Utility costs are monitored in order to adjust
the charge up or down as needed.
Withdrawal "W" Policy - Beginning Fall 2012, a fee of $50 per course drop will be charged to an Undergraduate
student receiving a grade of "W" for a class.